The truth hurts

21 Feb

 So, I’ve been thinking lately about food. . . I guess that’s a natural by-product of not posting on Sarah’s blog anymore.  (Sorry Sarah, unless someone proves otherwise, I’m going to consider the food blog dead.)  So. . . right. . . food. . .

You see, the other day I woke up with the realization that I had buttermilk in the fridge, and I have a vague memory of my mom rolling out cinnamon rolls when I was young.  I thought to myself, “If this is something that my mom had the energy to do (while raising five bratty children), it couldn’t be that hard.”  With that thought in mind, I headed to the kitchen. . .

The cinnamon rolls – which you can see here – aren’t very beautiful. And well, I made them by following a buttermilk biscuit recipe, slathering the rolled out dough with butter, cinnamon and sugar, and topping them with a cream cheese frosting.  So, they weren’t the best cinnamon rolls in the world, but they were good, and I’d say even better than the ones that you pop out of the tube from the cold section at the grocery.  The beauty of it, I think, is that I had everything on hand, and it only took a few minutes to whip together.  And the SAD thing is, I think, that we miss a lot of opportunities like this because we’re so used to buying prepackaged goods.  I’m not saying that I’m going to give up on convenience type items, but I am . . . I guess what I’m trying to say is that I am going to start cooking more?  Ha.  Not likely.  I’m going to try to be more conscious of preparing things from scratch, when I have the time and the inclination to do so. 

And that begins with (well, it began with a batch of cinnamon rolls, but after that. . . ) home made lasagna.  I know.  This isn’t very pretty either, but it was good, and it was also super easy.  Hooray for food. 

So, what have you bothered to cook lately?

Leave a Reply

