You Capture: Anti-technology

2 Mar

I figured that there would be enough pictures of cell phones and laptops for everyone today, so I went a different route. . . when I was in New Orleans, I was people watching and noticed this man, also people watching, at a café window.  And I began to think fondly of the days when people would sit quietly when alone and interact with their companions when not alone. 

Check out You Capture for. . . some cell phone pictures?  Laptops?  What do you think technology meant to everyone else?  Maybe a cool circuit board. . .

Photobucket


16 Responses to “You Capture: Anti-technology”

  1. Jamie @ See You There! March 2, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    brilliant!! i was totally un-inspired by this week’s theme, yet still posted a pic of my comptuer lol… love your take on it! if you dont mind i will include this in my round up of faves that i post every week, it will go up at 7:00 🙂

    • Like A Broken Umbrella March 2, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Thanks. . . I’d love to be one of your favorites. . . especially for blogging about not liking technology. And, yes, I do realize the irony. . .

  2. Carrie March 2, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    LOVE this one and the whole idea behind it! So true and I do think it’s sad to see two people sitting at a table together, both so busy with their phones or laptops or Blackberries that they forget to talk to EACH OTHER!! Great, great capture and reminder!

  3. Melissa G March 2, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    One of my favorites I have seen this week!!

  4. girlsworld March 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I remember those days. I still do it periodically just because it’s so peaceful.

  5. Gina March 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Great job- I thought of doing something along the lines of “old school technology” but just didn’t get there. 🙂

  6. Manda March 2, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Love your post. Great photo too. I did include some technology shots, but also included a “nature” one in my post this week.

  7. Melissa March 2, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    I love your anti-technology post and what a neat perspective you captured. Isn’t people watching the best?

  8. Stephanie March 2, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    I love people watching! I focused on the things that plug into the cell phone, laptop, etc. this week, but it was a bit tough to think ‘outside the box’ with this one

  9. Jessy@FairytaleFrosting March 3, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    This is fantastic! Found you checking out links on You Capture. And now I feel lame taking a pic of my cell phone! LOL!
    Truly a fantastic and touching photo and rebellion against technology! =)

  10. Vicki March 3, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    Awesome take on the topic! I love people watching and love that some people have resisted the technology movement! Thanks for sharing!

  11. MWP {the blog} March 3, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    This is am amazing photo! I didn’t want to post a photo of my computer or cell phone, either, this week. However, I did still go the technology route. I love your take on this topic.

  12. Stacia March 3, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    His body language says so much. Great capture.

  13. elizabeth holder March 3, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    well this one is my favorite entry – great job!!
    sometimes i miss the good old days of “pre”-technology

  14. Eppyville March 4, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    Love your perspective…I too have those moments…unfortunately, the technology train is one of those things that just won’t stop…however, I think it is necessary for us to stop using it from time to time to remind us that we don’t need it every second of every hour of every day. Great Capture!

  15. Caroline March 4, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    Brilliant take! I wasn’t very inspired by this week’s topic, wish I’d thought to approach it differently. What a beautiful shot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

