Spring & My First Real Sewing Post

20 Apr

There are a lot of things about my childhood that I love.  One of those is that I grew up feeling like I deserve a new dress just because it’s spring, and you can’t go to Easter mass in an old dress.  Another thing that I love about how I was raised is the notion that I ought to sew this blasted Easter dress myself.  It’s just not the same when you buy it.  So, here is my You Capture picture for this week’s theme:  Spring. . . . a dress, in theory.

 

Now, because it’s a new pattern, and very few people have blogged about it yet, I’m going to go on a bit about the pattern for those people who are interested in cyberspace.  It’s Simplicity 2219.  The store didn’t have it in my size, so I did resize the pattern and fiddle with it a bit, but I think that what I cut was very close to what the pattern WOULD have been for my size, and it fits spot on.  The dress was super easy to sew and only took about five hours.  It is a pattern that calls for a knit fabric, but I wanted to use something from my stash, and it worked alright.  I did leave out the elastic as it seemed unnecessary, and it’s loose enough to sew without having to do a zipper. (Thank God!)  I think that’s about it.  I do love the dress quite a bit and immediately wanted to sew another version of it in a very similar print, but I restrained myself.  So, here is my favorite bit of the pattern. . . some of the gathers at the bust and waistline.

 

And here is a view of the dress (and me!) outside. . . courtesy of Alex, top notch photographer extraordinaire.

Happy Easter!  For more spring photos, by the way, don’t forget to check out Beth’s blog:

Photobucket

3 Responses to “Spring & My First Real Sewing Post”

  1. Regina Lynn April 20, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Ooooh, cute! I like! Makes me wanna sew an Easter dress with that pattern!

  2. Jenifer L Higgins April 20, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    I just love the fabric!

  3. Maria @ Living, Learning, Loving April 20, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Sew (ha ha!) pretty! Seriously, it’s beautiful and very spring-y!

Leave a Reply

