A House Divided

13 Sep

So, here’s the thing. . . when I’m not sneaking bites of cream cheese danishes on my afternoon break, I’ve been working pretty hard at living a sugar free lifestyle these days, and am eating pretty much only 100% whole grain bread products and pasta. Of course, since I’ve only been doing this for a few months, there are still a few cooking disasters.

The most recent disaster that comes to mind is the loaf of sandwich bread which made a healthy THUNK when I dumped it out of the loaf pan.  When I heard that ominous thunk, I suddenly recalled that I had tried that recipe before. . . and the bread had gone THUNK that time too.  In an effort to improve my chances and aid my somewhat faulty memory. . . I’m going to try to use my blog to keep track of what works, and what so obviously doesn’t.  *Note to self. . . Don’t let the dough fool you, the Brennens know nothing about baking sandwich bread.* 

That being said, here was last night’s somewhat successful attempt.  Yay!  Our friends at America’s Test Kitchen have a recipe for Chicken Pot Pie, which I sort of followed. . . I mean, I did include Cream of Mushroom Soup, and I don’t mind admitting it.  I’m from the South.  I’m going to use Campbell’s soup in my pot pie no matter what you say. . . and somehow, while remembering the forbidden soup, I managed to forget the actual mushrooms.  Go figure.  Regardless, for the dough, I mixed up two half batches. . . one with real people flour for Alex, and another with whole wheat flour for me.  And it worked.  I added a little extra baking powder (maybe 1/4 tsp?) and the whole wheat topping tasted just as good, if not better, than the other.   (I had to test them both.  It’s the only way to know.)  So, crumbly biscuit like pot pie topping. . . a success!

2 Responses to “A House Divided”

  1. Maria @ Living, Learning, Loving September 15, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    So wait, where’s the recipe??? You can’t write about chicken pot pie and not have a recipe to go with it! 🙂

    • Like A Broken Umbrella September 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Oh, but I can. 🙂 I tried to link up to the ATK website, but they are crazy paranoid about copyright infringement and such, and so that wasn’t happening. . . and since I only loosely followed their recipe, it didn’t seem so important. I’ll type up what I did in another post. . . because you need a recipe for chicken pot pie?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

