Things done and left undone

4 Oct

When a vacation ends, it’s always nice to reflect on all of the things that you’ve done. . . or that you didn’t have time to do. However, when you stayed home for that vacation, things are a bit different. I thought that it would be a bummer to see a week’s worth of photos that didn’t involve beach scenes or margaritas dripping with condensation. . . but, as it turns out, I happen to love my vacation photos, so you have no choice but to sit there and look at them. . . unless, of course, the thought of vacation photos has you quickly exiting my blog. . .

My week off included some time with family. . .

And lots of time pretending that Christmas is almost here. . .

I spent a little quality time at Lowe’s and Home Depot. . . planning lots of, umm, serious projects.

Seriously, I did DO some woodworking projects (which included improving my scroll saw skills).

And we spent a little time looking at pumpkins (ahem, proof that I do realize that it’s only October).

I managed to spend an evening sitting around La Madeleine drinking coffee on a weeknight. . . because I didn’t have to wake up the next morning.  (It’s the little things.)

And I got around to finishing up not one but TWO quilting projects.  I guess that means that either Kim or Marie will call this week to let me know that I need to get started on the next dang baby quilt. . .

And I even had time to glue together a couple of plates and a candlestick.  Aren’t they beautiful, if somewhat not perfectly centered?

And, finally, what is a vacation post without some fun pictures of the random scenery? 

2 Responses to “Things done and left undone”

  1. hippiepoints October 4, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I love vacations at home… 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sewing my wedding dress. . . the beginning « Like A Broken Umbrella - November 8, 2011

    […] I can’t remember which project it was, but I got the bug.  I’ve been making quilts for one baby after the next, repairing old quilts, and even attempting buttonholes.  Well, technically I haven’t […]

Leave a Reply

