Kind of like Victor Frankenstein’s Monster

7 Oct

I know that the whole theory of this blog is that it’s a place for me to post some of my photos. . . but let’s be honest, I’m no great food photographer.  I think that’s been proven time and again, but I did concoct an awesome recipe last night, that’s an amalgamation of other types of recipes. . . sort of like when I made Delta Eta Surprise – a dish that will live on in infamy.  So, if you’re not scared. . . let me explain to you how this is done!  (And you’ll just have to use your visionary imagination this time around.)

Stew – that’s it, just plain stew, but you can forget the potatoes.  Sigh.  Potatoes.

2 pounds stew meat
16 oz. mushrooms
1 small package of baby carrots
1 bottle of Abita Pecan Harvest Ale
1 small onion
1 tsp. minced garlic
Some water – about 3 cups total, I guess
1 can of Ro*Tel – did you know that it’s spelled this way because the founder, Roettele, didn’t think that anyone would be able to spell or pronounce his name? And how many variations of Ro*Tel, Ro-tel, Rotel, can you think up in ten seconds?

Okay, now for the cooking part. . .  Brown your stew meat in a hot dutch oven.  Add the onions and garlic and cook until the onions have softened.  Add the beer, some water, and the can of Ro*Tel.  Cook this for about an hour and a half to two hours on medium, until the meat is tender, adding water as needed.  Then, toss in the bag of carrots (wasn’t that easy?) and the package of mushrooms (ditto on the easy bit) and cook for about another half hour.  Oh, right, but before that part, back at the beginning, you should season the meat with salt and pepper. . . and, at the end, add more seasoning to taste.  Not that you need much since the Ro*Tel, rotel, Ro-tel, has plenty of salt and heat. 

See?  Not nearly as scary as the concoctions that I came up with in the dorm.  I was going for (and I think that I achieved) something between a traditional sauce piquante and this beef and guinness pie that Sarah and I cooked once.  And, I do believe that I achieved that. . . and I hardly, maybe only a little bit, miss having potatoes in the stew.  I can tell you, there’s no way I’m ruining this with brown rice. . . so there.

Leave a Reply

