The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

18 Nov

As I was photographing this infinity scarf which I finished the other day (instead of working on that stupid curtain), it occurred to me that I have crafted some items that I think are genuinely beautiful. . . and some that are genuinely horrible. 

It sort of makes you wonder, that two objects that are so different could come from the same person.  I mean, take these two tote bags for instance. . . I made both of them around the same time.  I actually made the smaller tote bag with ribbons and buttons first. . . and then I decided that I could use old pillowcases and make large grocery style tote bags out of them. . . and that they didn’t need to look decent, they just needed to perform a specific function. . . Even with that thought in mind, how could one turn out so cute (in my humble opinion) and the other so horrible?

 

That’s kind of how I felt when I saw how the third muslin for the wedding dress came out. . . And I’m still trying to decide if the pictures are even worth posting. . . but I do, maybe, want an outside opinion on it. . . perhaps the idea is worth salvaging. . . maybe. . .

P.S.  Isn’t the infinity scarf cute?  It was so easy to crochet.  You simply pick a stitch that you like, crochet until the scarf is about 50 inches, then crochet the ends together.  After I did that, I did two rows of single crochet along each side to give it a more finished look.  So so easy. . . so much easier than kitchen curtains. . .

2 Responses to “The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”

  1. hippiepoints November 18, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I think both bags are cute!
    And so it’s the scarf! I have about 20 of them… but I live in a place where I NEVER need them 😉
    Also, post the pictures! I want to see them…

    • Like A Broken Umbrella November 22, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      I’ll post the other pictures soon. . . even if they are a bit embarassing. How is your dress coming along?

Leave a Reply

