Put your big girl gloves on

30 Nov

You know the saying, put your big girl panties on?  I know that it’s horrible, but when I started making this hot mustard sauce, shortly after I snapped on a pair of latex gloves, I thought, “this is a recipe that requires you to put your big girl gloves on.”  And, try as I could, I couldn’t wipe that thought from my brain.  So, without further ado. . . here’s the recipe for Hot Mustard Sauce.  Mom swears that it’s worth the effort, but I haven’t tested it yet. . . which is shameful, I know. . . to blog about a recipe before you try it.  In my defense, I finished canning this stuff at around 10:00 last night, at which time it was still piping hot. . . and I left home early this morning.  So, I haven’t really had a chance to try it. . . In other news, why is it called canning when you put the stuff in jars?  And, on another side note, yes, that IS the curtain behind this jar of mustard sauce.  I couldn’t help it.

Hot Mustard Sauce

20 jalepeno peppers
6 c. sugar
1 qt. mustard
1 qt. white vinegar
1 T. salt

Here’s the part where you put your big girl gloves on. Trust me, you don’t want to clean 20 peppers without them. After you have your gloves on, go ahead and remove the seeds and chop the peppers.

Next, mix everything in a REALLY big pot. This recipe makes 15 half pints, so you should do the math beforehand. Me, I’m not so great at math, so I just grabbed our big dutch oven and went for it. So, after everything is mixed up in your BIG pot, let it boil for 10-15 minutes. . . or until things boil over at 7 minutes. Your call. After I had a boiled over, sugary mustard mess at 7 minutes, I just moved on to the next step.

Mix: 1 1/2 c. flour and 1 1/2 c. water. (Don’t you hate when recipes add extra ingredients half way through? Ones that weren’t listed at the beginning of the recipe, and it’s not until you’re at THAT point that you realize you don’t have everything that you need to finish the job?) Slowly add this flour/water mixture to the above mess. It is VERY important to whisk as you are doing this. . . if you are still sopping up mustard and sugar messes and trying to figure out if you have enough lids, you will maybe not notice that some of your flour mixture is turning into baby dumplings in your hot mustard sauce. After you’ve calmly (ha) whisked in the flour and water mixture, allow the sauce to boil for an additional five minutes on medium, stirring thoroughly the entire time. Then, all you have to do is ladle the stuff into hot jars and seal. . . be forewarned, your ladle will turn yellow; all of your dishtowels (you know, the ones you used to sop up the mess) will also turn yellow; your house will smell like vinegar and sugar; and your fiancé will make faces at you.

This recipe will leave you grumbling things like, “I wonder if Mom knows that they sell sweet and spicy mustard at the store.” And, “Should I even keep a jar for myself? This stuff has SIX cups of sugar in it.”

But, the next morning, when everything is clean and your kitchen smells normal again, it’s easy to realize that making it wasn’t that difficult at all. . . If only I could figure out how many quarts 15 half-pints are. . . and then figure out how many quarts my big dutch oven holds. . . and surely that’s math that I can handle. Surely.

One Response to “Put your big girl gloves on”

  1. Maria @ Living, Learning, Loving December 5, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Yum! It looks so good! I’m going to try to remember to make this someday when I have time . . . like in a couple of years. 🙂 I still have a jar of pepper jelly in the pantry from when i made a batch 6 years ago (I should probably throw that out huh?) because I just can’t let go of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

