No Sugar Added Pie Wins Pie Contest!

3 Feb

Okay, I debated for ages about whether or not I was going to post on this since the pie all disappeared before I got around to taking any pictures, but:  a) I don’t have anything else to post except some pictures that are still on my camera and b) I haven’t posted anything in ages, so why not? and c) I keep thinking about this pie and wishing that I still had some, so maybe it’s worth sharing with the world?

So, while Amanda was still visiting with us, she asked that I make her a peanut butter pie. . . well, hell, I don’t know if I’ve ever even EATEN a peanut butter pie, and it certainly wasn’t something that I had a favorite recipe for, so I went scouring the internet and found this.  Now, we all know that I’m trying to avoid sugar and stuff, and we also know that I don’t have a ton of willpower.  (It’s always good to acknowledge your faults.)  I knew that there was no way that I could sit around my house, with a decadent peanut butter pie in my fridge and not eat any.  So, I did what any sane person would do.  I made two pies.  For Amanda, I followed the recipe.  And for me, I tweaked it a bit.  And guess what!  Alex and I both liked my no sugar added pie better!  We actually (don’t tell Amanda) threw away the last slice of her pie that didn’t get eaten before she boarded the plane.  So, there you have the original recipe, you know, if you follow that link. . . let me tell you what I did!

For the crust, I used a recipe from Sugar Bust for Life! with the Brennans.  I think that I’ve mentioned it before.  One day I will actually remember to transcribe the recipe.   It’s basically one cup of triscuits, pulverized in the food processor, one cup of pecans – also pulverized, a stick of butter?, and some melted dark chocolate. . . You mix it all together, smoosh it into a pie plate and bake it for about 10 minutes. 

I followed the other recipe pretty closely for the filling. . . but I used Smucker’s Creamy Natural Peanut Butter.  And I replaced the sugar with Splenda. . . and for the frozen whipped topping, I just used the Sugar Free Cool Whip.  Since the filling is supposed to be peanut buttery instead of sweet to begin with, you couldn’t even tell the difference.  And, instead of glopping fudge sauce all over it, I simply melted about 2 more ounces of dark chocolate with a couple of  tablespoons of butter and drizzled it over the top.  Man, but I want pie now.  Sigh. 

As tempting as the fudge sauce was, when I took a bite (entirely for research purposes), it really was SUPER SWEET and sort of overwhelmed the peanut butter flavor.  When you take that into consideration. . . and then think about all of the added flavor from a homemade chocolatey-crunchy crust that had that nice saltiness of the pecans in the background. . . there really was no competition.  It’s kind of nice when the healthier option wins the day, isn’t it?

 

Leave a Reply

