Chronicle of a Day

8 Jul

For some reason, when I got out of my car at the library yesterday, and I saw this coat hanging from a tree, I remembered the day, years back. when Crissy and I (Sharon was there too, but does she count anymore?) decided to chronicle our day. . . I’d not done it since. . . and since I didn’t have anything better to do, I decided to chronicle my day. . . but since I started about half way through the day, I decided to chronicle a day and a half or so. . . and here it is.

 

When I left the library, I had realized that I had done so much earlier in the day that hadn’t been recorded. . . exciting stuff. . . like painting my fingernails.  Ha ha ha. . . you can stop reading now.  It doesn’t get THAT much more fun than this.

 

I left the library and went to Goodwill.  I bought these orange pants (TRUE or FALSE?).

 

 

On the way home, I grabbed some jambalaya from a fundraiser outside of Wal-Mart.   The rice was uncooked.  Lesson learned. . . don’t buy jambalaya from a girls’ baseball team with blue t-shirts.  It has crunchy rice.

 

When I got home, I saw my neighbor cutting his grass. . . and I thought about cutting my yard. . . but it was hot, so I went outside to take a picture of him cutting his grass like a crazy person at 1 in the afternoon. . . but he had ditched his mower too. . .

 

I then realized not only did I miss photographing my manicure, I also missed me washing dishes!  Ha ha ha ha. . .

 

Then the fun REALLY begins. . . I had to get ready to go to the movies!!!  Which meant trading purses to something bigger to fit my candy stash.

 

It also meant moving all of the essentials from my every day purse.

It sort of makes you wonder why I carry a purse, since my only essentials are a wallet and an asthma inhaler.  Then on my way to meet Lori for the movies, I realized that I missed Jolly Jingles AGAIN.  These people need to advertise better. Instead of washing dishes and painting my fingernails, I could have been pretending it was Christmas!!!  If you know me, you realize how tragic this is.

 

Does she look a little embarassed?  I take refuge in the fact that it wasn’t our idea. . . we only went to see Magic Mike to keep Lori’s coworker company. . .  and Patricia was dragged along, too. . . I’m sure that none of us would have decided to go watch it on our own. . . should I ramble about mob mentality?  Or just leave it be?

 

 

Tired and headachey at the end of the day.  I’d actually had a headache for hours at this point. . .  Some things are worth the sacrifice, though.  And a girls’ night out is definitely one of those things.

 

 

The next day. . . (I know!  This is almost as exciting as a Facebook post!)

Cold onion rings for breakfast!

 

 


After I finished my book, I decided to quit being a bum.  This meant it was time to dig out Alex’s wooden box and rifle through the utensils to see if there were any made of silver, because I have a few projects in mind!  Of course, I’ll need to get approval to destroy the ones that I picked out.

 

 

 

Then, I decided to “fix” the shower head.  A clamp always does the trick!  Ha.  Just kidding.  Well, that is what I did, but I went by Lowe’s to see how much it cost to replace the little plastic piece that holds the shower head in place.  Do you want to know how much??  $12.  I think that’s what we paid for the shower head in the first place!  So, looks like we’re getting a new shower head.  But, in the meantime, the clamp does work. . .

 

I think that I forgot to mention that I’d been drinking a fair amount of coffee AND Coke this morning?  After I rifled through the silver and fixed the shower, I had a BRILLIANT realization that my favorite thrift stores in B.R. were open!  Here’s to remembering the hours of a thrift store that you hadn’t been to in about five years!  It sort of makes you wonder what other knowledge is stored away in my little brain. . .

 

 

I tried to call Sarah – twice – but she ignored my calls.  Hmph.  Then I got tired of B.R. and decided to head home – which meant looking at my yard again and thinking that I REALLY need to cut the grass.  But, sadly, it was raining.  My heart was broken.

 

Then I got out the tools and poured myself another Coke!  Luckily for everyone involved, I couldn’t find the drill bits.

 

 

 

And here we are. . . the end of roughly 24 hours. . . still with a headache (missing Alex). . . and watching a documentary about the Big Apple Circus – which is now overdue.  Hopefully no one is waiting on it. . . I still have discs to go!

2 Responses to “Chronicle of a Day”

  1. Michelle July 24, 2012 at 4:50 am #

    I absolutely LOVE this post!!!!!!! It satisfied the voyeur in me and your photos are beautiful.

    • Like A Broken Umbrella July 24, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      Thank you so much. It is sort of sad, though, that my uninspiring day satisfied your voyeuristic tendencies. . .

Leave a Reply

