Recipe Extravaganza

1 Aug

So, no pics today, but I have three recipes to share. . . the first two, I made this past weekend. . . they have a common theme. . . both copycat recipes, so I was going to get around to posting about how awesome they are, but I just hadn’t done it yet.  The third, is here because I need to remember to share it with a coworker tomorrow.  He mentioned egg drop soup, and I remembered that I have Laura’s recipe which is about the BEST egg drop soup I’ve eaten in my life.  So, let’s start with the soup, shall we?

Egg Drop Soup
2 large cans chicken broth (about 3 lb 50?)
3/4 c. of sherry or dry rice wine

Boil these two ingredients for about 30 minutes with:

white pepper
about 6 white ends of scallions
about 8 slices of ginger (cut in coin sized pieces)
4 cloves of garlic – smooshed
1 small package of mushrooms

Then, turn heat down to barely simmering & while stirring, pour in mixed up:
2 whole eggs
4 egg whites
2 T. sherry

Then eat it, and eat it, and eat it – because this makes a LOT of egg drop soup. But it’s so worth it.

Now, on to the copycat recipes. . .

I’ve never been to a Chuy’s, but Alex came back from his last trip to Texas telling me all about this awesome jalapeno salsa, so I did my research, like a good librarian, and found the recipe. I agree, this stuff is good. Umm, we’re almost out already? Like the soup, though, this recipe makes a LOT. . . so you may want to halve it? Or just a find a friend and share.

Chuy’s Creamy Jalapeno Dip
3/4 c. of mayo
3/4 c. of milk
1 oz. dressing mix (Hidden Valley Ranch)
4 oz. green chilies
3/4 c. pickled jalapeno peppers
3 T. of chopped cilantro
1/4 tsp. of salt
1 tsp. of garlic powder
1 tsp. of lime juice

Mix mayo, milk & ranch mix. Let stand in fridge for at least one hour (or not at all – depending on how patient you are). Chop chilies, jalapenos, and cilantro together. Mix in salt, garlic powder, and lime juice. Add chili mixture to ranch mix. The longer it sits, the better? The hotter? I preferred it when it was first mixed. . . but that didn’t stop me from spreading it on wheat bread this morning and adding a fried egg and a bunch of cheddar cheese. Best breakfast ever? Yes. I think so.

And the other copycat recipe that I made this last weekend? We ran out of it. . . this weekend. This recipe might be worth doubling? Tripling?

Outback Steakhouse Honey-Wheat Bushman Bread
1 1/2 c. warm water
2 T. butter, softened
1/2 c. honey
2 c. bread flour, plus extra (I’m now wishing I would have noticed that. My dough was so sticky. I could have used more flour.)
2 c. whole wheat flour
1 T. cocoa powder (who knew????)
1 T. sugar
2 tsp. instant coffee powder (again, who knew????)
1 tsp. salt
2 1/4 tsp. (1 envelope) active dry yeast
3 T. cornmeal, for dusting
Whipped butter, for serving

Place all of the ingredients except the cornmeal and whipped butter in a bread machine and follow the manufacturer’s directions. The dough will be a little on the wet side and sticky, but if it seems too wet, add more bread flour. (Again, I should read recipes completely through!) When the dough is done, let it rise for 1 hour in the machine. Remove from the machine, punch down, and divide into 8 portions. Form the portions into tubular shaped loaves 6-8 inches long and 2 inches wide. Sprinkle the entire surface of the loaves with the cornmeal and place the loaves on two cookie sheets. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for one hour. Preheat the oven to 350. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes. Serve with warm whipped butter.

Giving credit where it’s due, this recipe is from America’s Most Wanted Recipes by Ron Douglas, page ummm, well, I don’t know the page number. . . but it’s available at your local Ascension Parish Library, only not right now because I have it checked out. . . so try back in about 13 days. The book’s full of copycat recipes. . . although, today, I’m wondering why people bother making something when they can just go somewhere and let someone else make it. Of course, I can’t just hop on over to Chuy’s because they haven’t bothered to build one in Gonzales yet, so I guess I’ll be making the dip again soon. After all, I still have a lot of cilantro and nothing else to do with it!

Leave a Reply

