The I’m Posting Twice in the Same Day Because I’m Bored Post

29 Aug

Well, thanks to Hurricane / Tropical Storm Isaac, I have entirely too much free time on my hands with nothing planned ahead to do. . . so here is my $1, I sewed it during the hurricane shirt.  Also known as Simplicity 2372.  I love how it came out (on my manequin)!  I’m still unsure of how I think that it came out when I have it on my person.

I did indeed sew this for only $1, though, which I think is impressive.  I got the pattern on sale the last time I went shopping, thinking that the shirt might make for a nice work staple.  The fabric is from a Christmas gone by. . . there was one year that I thought it would be nice to even change the curtains to something red when I decorated.  It didn’t take me long to realize that I wasn’t a fan of red curtains.  Especially since the living room was sort of dim anyhow, and these dark red, heavy curtains were replacing something lighter and much brighter. . . so I suppose I paid for the curtains at some point, but since they were intended to be a goodwill donation about five years ago, but then I decided to save them in case I ever wanted to use the fabric, I’m considering them free.  The weight of the fabric really is all wrong for this shirt, and I can admit that.  I meant to do it in a nice cream colored linen but haven’t bought that fabric yet, so I thought that I could use the red to make a muslin of sorts.  I didn’t have to make any major changes the pattern.  I did tweak the pattern a bit to account for my pear shaped figure. . . and I added some room in the arms. . . but otherwise it was a really quick project to sew and didn’t take up nearly enough time. . . but I’ll have a new shirt to wear on Friday!  Assuming I have to go back to work on Friday?  Surely by Friday, we’ll be up and running.  In the meantime, check out this close up of the pleats.  Fun, yeah?  I also took a close up of my face to share. . . but that one was best left deleted.  🙂

4 Responses to “The I’m Posting Twice in the Same Day Because I’m Bored Post”

  1. dressesandme August 30, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    I love this pattern! I’m off to check it out!

    • Like A Broken Umbrella August 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      I love it too! I am fairly certain that I am going to make at least two more. More than four shirts in the same style seems redundant in my book, but three is definitely acceptable!

  2. Lexley September 30, 2013 at 1:51 am #

    Stunning shirt….I am in the process of cutting my toile/muslin for the dress….but am going to omit the cf and cb seams and length will sit just a smidge under the knee I want more of a semi relaxed fit and will make this up in a bright orange/red light weight linen……ready for my beach holiday in Noosa/QLD……..

    • Like A Broken Umbrella September 30, 2013 at 2:31 am #

      That sounds great. I keep meaning to do another shirt or two like this. I absolutely love the way the pattern turned out. . . although, in hind sight, I would certainly do it a bit longer the next time.

Leave a Reply

