RELIC

18 Sep

I was writing to Heather about RELIC, and decided that I would just swipe the whole passage from her e-mail for my blog. . . So, when I’m not sloppily creating crafts, or taking bad pictures, this is what I do with my time. . .

Oh, man, I should tell you about RELIC. . . so it’s this program that we do with a visiting professor, complete with syllabus and assigned readings. . . And, for six weeks, you do the assigned readings, then show up and discuss them.  So, I look at the syllabus, and I think to myself, there’s no way I can read all of this.  The funny thing?  He’s only asking us to read about 250 pages a week.  The even funnier thing?  I realized this past weekend that I was putting off reading by claiming that I needed to work on my Christmas quilt. . . So I was putting off work I didn’t want to do with work I also didn’t want to do.  At one point, I laughed aloud and wondered how long it would be before I decided that I NEEDED to do an ice cream run.  The sad thing?  Our next meeting is tonight, and I’m only about half way through with the assigned reading.  This is a little TOO much like college.  my defense, Zane Grey is a BORING writer.  I really do feel like a college freshman.  This is making me realize how cushy book club reading is.  I mean, the topics aren’t always easy – the book does have to be discussable, but almost everything that we read is current. . . so reading a book from the early 1900s is throwing me off. . . just with all of the extra description and stilted narrative. . . and here I am rambling about a book I haven’t bothered to finish.  I wonder how much I can read between 4:30 and 6:00, if I take a break to get junk food. . . like ice cream.  🙂

Leave a Reply

