Dump Cake

17 Nov

So, after a long week at work and yet another dinner at Chef KD’s, I decided that I needed a warm dessert. . . but I was too tired to even fix myself a sandwich, how was I going to come up with a warm cobbler-y dessert?  And then I remembered the magic of Dump Cake.  We stopped at the store for a few essentials, and then I got to work.  The whole time I was mixing the fruit in the cake pan, I kept repeating in my head, over and over, “God bless the person who thought up dump cake.”  I must have literally said that at least twenty times in my head.  (My brain really has officially shut down for the evening.)  I only quit thinking that sentence on repeat when I was layering the butter on top – at which point my brain started repeating, “Thank God for butter.”  I think that it’s about time for a warm bath and a cup of hot chocolate.  In the meantime – here’s the recipe (just in case you’ve been on Mars for the last decade and have somehow missed out on the magically easy goodness).

Dump Cake
1 can cherry pie filling
1 can apple pie filling
1 can pineapple tidbits

Dump all three into the bottom of your cake pan, juice and all and stir it around.

1/2 box butter cake mix

Sprinkle the cake mix on top, dry, over the fruit.

1 stick of butter

Slice the butter into thin pieces and spread out across the top of the cake mix.

1/2 bag of shredded coconut

Sprinkle the coconut liberally over everything. Then, toss the cake into a 350 degree oven for 30-45 minutes, until the fruit is hot and bubbly, and the coconut is toasted.

It is that easy.  And the best thing?  The only dishes that you got dirty in the process is the cake pan itself, a spoon, and the knife used to slice the butter. . . and those can all go in the dishwasher!  So go grab some fruit, mix up a dessert, then sit back and contemplate all of the food coming your way in less than a week!  God bless dump cake, butter, and the person who invented Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

