Crazy? Or just overly ambitious?

5 Jan

So, it’s been a little cold in my office this week.  Actually, it’s been really cold, bones and joints ached cold, in my office this week.  I brought a space heater to work. . . and the Christmas quilt. . . but, yeah, Christmas is over.  So, what did I decide to do?  I decided to make a quilt in a weekend*.  It’s only Saturday, so I’m still not done. . . but I am wondering if I’m being overly ambitious – or just plain crazy.  Consider this a halfway through status report.

*To be honest, I cut the colorful squares out on Thursday night. . . so it’s not completely a one weekend project. . .   Let’s begin, shall we?

It’s funny how dishes are always the first thing that I give up on when I start a project like this.
dishes

 

And this is where I was at the end of Friday night.  Half of the rows were sewn together.  With such large squares, everything was coming together so quickly!

Friday Night

 

And around 10 AM on Saturday morning?  The top was already pieced!  Did I mention that I am making this quilt COMPLETELY from scraps.  The only thing that I’m buying is thread.  I’ve also decided to call it my modern vintage quilt.  You can see that it’s made partially from this fun funky floral bedsheet from the 70s, and partially from this fun bright stripe fabric.  They’re both leftovers from other projects that have been taking up space in the craft closet for years.

Saturday 10 AM

 

Since I was ahead of the game, I took a break, washed dishes and fixed lunch.  Ha ha ha. . . I knew I wouldn’t be able to leave dishes piled in the sink for that long.  I have selective OCD.  So.  Here we are, making a quilt sandwich.  So, I read on the internet about this great way to sew up the edges of a quilt which eliminates the need for binding.  Does it sound to good to be true?  Well, let’s just say, what works for some doesn’t necessarily work for others. . . But here we are at noon, making a backwards quilt sandwich.

Noonish

 

The reason the backwards quilt sandwich concept really didn’t work for me is that I decided to patch up leftover batting.  I mean, this mess I’m about to show you would have happened anyway, but if I had a solid piece of batting, it would be more evenly distributed in the quilt.  And, yes.  This is polyester batting.  I have no idea what it was doing in my craft closet. . . but it was there. . . and completely from scraps, right?

patching batting

 

 

And here we are, mid afternoon on Saturday. . . isn’t this a mess?  Sigh.  Did I mention that it took until around four to get to this point?  Did I mention that it took this long because one of my sewing machines, the one that I was using, decided that it didn’t want to work again?  And so I switched to my other sewing machine. . . and that machine decided that it didn’t like keeping a regular tension?  And then I had to decide which machine I wanted to fix?  And then I got out the tool box, opened up the first machine and gave it good oiling?  And beat it into submission?

4ish botched job

 

 

Around 4:00 on Saturday, the crazy is starting to show. . . this is the “Do you think Alex will notice that I ate two of his pecan spinwheels?” face.

Time for Coffee

 

And now it’s 6:00ish.  One fourth of the quilt is machine quilted. . . and I’m out of thread, again.  Do I stop for the night?  Or go to buy more thread?  Surely I can finish the rest of the quilt tomorrow?

4 Responses to “Crazy? Or just overly ambitious?”

  1. ayoungcrafter January 6, 2013 at 1:59 am #

    I love the design and fabric 🙂
    What is the brand of batting that you buy? My polyester batting is really thin and I can’t find anything thicker

    • Like A Broken Umbrella January 6, 2013 at 4:55 am #

      I usually use Heirloom Natural Cotton Batting. It’s not thick either, but in Louisiana, you don’t exactly NEED thick blankets. This was just some cheap polyester batting from Wal-Mart.

      And thank you! I love the design and the fabric too. I should have tried harder to take some nice photos, because the color is off. It’s so much prettier in person. When it’s all done tomorrow (fingers crossed), I’ll take a photo of it on the clothesline. The colors will be more true then. I am so excited to think that I will probably be able to do it in one weekend – even if it does look a little sloppy.

  2. Pretty Lady Baby January 6, 2013 at 4:49 am #

    It’s quick and cute I can’t wait to see the finished result!

Leave a Reply

