weekend quilt – finished

6 Jan

It’s official. The Weekend Quilt? My Modern Retro? Finished at 12:20 on Sunday. Actually, by 12:20, I was done, fixed something on another quilt, chatted with Alex about lunch, and then realized that I hadn’t bothered to check what time I was finished. It wasn’t without some injury though.
done and washed

Unfortunately for everyone, I forgot to put my memory card back into my camera, so all of my pictures this morning were saved on my camera, but who knows where that cable is?  So the photo of me  sewing my finger?  Yeah, on the camera.  Irretrievable.  I know that you’re all terribly upset.  It was gruesome.  It was bloody.  As I watched the blood dripping from my poor lifeless finger, I thought of that classic film Manon de Sources. . . was that the movie with the guy who sewed the ribbon onto his chest?  Ugh.

battle wounds

 

Along with the bloody finger photos are some others that I snapped around the craft room. One of them? It’s similar to this picture that I recreated of my sewing kit. I was thinking about how the things that are around us are partially things we choose intentionally and purchase and partially things that we can’t let go of.  And the things that we can’t let go of? Those are usually a good sign of your age. This Caboodle has been a part of my life for over two decades. I remember when Parrain and Aunt Sara gave it to me, it had a hair bow in it that was made of balloons. The hair bow got placed into my drawer in the kitchen – one of the few spaces in the house that was all mine. It melted to the bottom of the drawer. The Caboodle, though, has served so many functions over the years. For a while, it held hair ribbons and rubberbands and barrettes, then more makeup than any teenager needs, and for the past decade or so, it’s been my sewing kit. Every time I look at it, I get a smile on my face, and I think of Aunt Sara and Parrain, and I hope that at least one of the gifts that I’ve given my godchildren sticks around into their adulthood and makes them think of me and brings a smile to their face.  (The bright plastic is also a nice contrast to the straw of Maw-Maw’s sewing kit in the background.)

caboodle

 

And one final photo? I have to say, taking a picture of the quilt outside, in the rain, with everything piled under the carport – that didn’t work so well today. Hopefully, I’ll get a good picture of the quilt eventually.  It’s not exactly as wonky and uneven as it looks here.

trying to take a picture in the rain

4 Responses to “weekend quilt – finished”

  1. Pretty Lady Baby January 6, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Wow! It is really pretty and I love the quilting. I hope to learn one day how to FMQ. Was it hard for you?

    • Like A Broken Umbrella January 6, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

      I actually had to look up FMQ! No. It’s not hard. I read up on it some, but mostly I just make things up as I go. It’s all about the little foot with the spring. You can mess up a LOT, and it still looks decent. Eventually, I will probably gain some standards, but I’ve only done a few free motion quilts, and I love all of them.

      • Pretty Lady Baby January 6, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

        This information is VERY encouraging!

      • Like A Broken Umbrella January 7, 2013 at 3:38 am #

        Oh, yeah. I have no idea what I’m doing. . . with all of my sewing, I look at books and then make it up as I go along. Your quilts look beautiful. I’m sure it will be no big deal for you to pick it up. . . and that part about sewing my finger? That’s fairly atypical. Free motion quilting isn’t any more dangerous than regular sewing. Ha ha ha ha. . .

Leave a Reply

