Catching Up. . . It’s been a while. . . so much for posting every day

4 Aug

July 30

July 30

August 2 – Setting up for the Tea Party

August 2

August 3 – The actual tea party with Sarah!

August 3 Sarah

August 4 – Making biscuits

August  4

So, when I was preparing for our tea party, I realized how many friends I have and how generous they are. . . the party was just for Sarah and myself, but there were reminders of everyone there.  As I set the table, I was very happy to be able to use my yellow napkin rings, which were a gift from Maria.  She bought them for me ages ago to match this yellow napkin holder that I bought in Miami on a trip to visit Crissy.  I’ve never had an occasion to use them before, but they were PERFECT for the tea party.  Later, on Friday evening, I was making thumbprint cookies, a recipe from Mrs. Jeanette.  And when it got time to fill the cookies with jelly, I used grape jelly from my sister-in-law, Kim, and guava paste from Alex’s friend, Carmen.  The teapot is mom’s (or was, rather, since I suppose it’s not ever going back to her), and the two tiered tray was inspired by Pinterest, and happened because Erin and I were so excited by the idea and exchanged ideas and bounced ideas off of each other.  It was such a little gathering, but it reminded me that the things we surround ourselves with are a reflection of our whole selves and the people we hold close to us. . .

One Response to “Catching Up. . . It’s been a while. . . so much for posting every day”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Libraries Have a Lasting Effect | Like A Broken Umbrella - September 8, 2013

    […] at the library, we had a tea party for adults.  I enjoyed it, and decided to have my own tea party.  I showed mom the pictures, and she decided to have her own tea party.  I was looking for a […]

Leave a Reply

