An Honest to God book critique

21 Aug

Maybe this is more like a complaint than a critique.  After years of hearing people say that they couldn’t BELIEVE that I hadn’t read Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor, I finally did.  Two weeks, forcing myself to read. . . remembering rules like you should subtract your age from 100 and read at least THAT many pages of a book before you give up. . . . thinking “Oh, I could go read this other book really quick and come back to this one” and then acknowledging to myself that if I put it down, I would never pick it up again.  I wish that I had something real to say about this book.  Really, I just found it dreadfully dull.  The plot wasn’t horrible, her writing isn’t horrible. . . but if I could go back in time, I would have put it down at page 66 and been done with it. . . . being a YS librarian should not mean that you have to torture yourself with crappy YA novels at night. . .

Leave a Reply

