More Awesome Than Awesome

30 Mar

What’s more awesome than finishing a craft project?  Running into a family member when you’re visiting the THIRD craft store of the day looking for that final bit that you needed.  Yay for bumping into Aunt Sara and her sister today!

Also awesome. . . when your finished project happens to match your mannequin!

Also awesome . . . when the braided twine (from bales of hay) that Uncle Kenneth has handed down happens to match the mannequin too!

Don’t those grommets look AMAZING?

IMGP0427

IMGP0429

What started out as a pretty hideous sketch turned into a decent purse.  I’m going to use it for a while, then will probably tweak it some and create a tutorial, complete with measurements!  I’ve never done a pattern and tutorial before, so that’s exciting. . .

And now for some random pictures from my garden.  I’d like to point out that there ARE flowers under my weeds!

IMGP0424

IMGP0425

IMGP0426

 

 

3 Responses to “More Awesome Than Awesome”

  1. Sara Fontenot April 9, 2014 at 3:09 am #

    LOVED the surprise of bumping into you at Joanns! And the purse is adorable. You did a really nice job on it. I cannot tell you how entertaining I find your blog. You are so gifted with your many talents and your creative writing. I should be going back to BR soon….maybe we could get together?! Love you, Aunt Sara

    • Like A Broken Umbrella April 11, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

      Of course! Planning a get together would give us more than a few minutes to chat. Thank you so much for all of your kind words about my writing and the blog. The older I get, the more I realize that I really don’t like writing or creative writing, but if you don’t explain the photos, people might sometimes get confused – especially when they sometimes see pictures of cribs. Ha ha ha ha. . .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Not So Horribly Difficult Bag to Sew | Like A Broken Umbrella - September 23, 2014

    […] in March, I designed a purse, created a pattern and sewed it right up.  I mentioned at the time that I would use it for a while and then do a tutorial.  I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

