Have I failed as a Cajun?

8 Apr

Last night, Alex said that he wanted some gravy, but he knew that I couldn’t make any since I didn’t have any of “that gravy starter.”  That “gravy starter” that he was talking about?  Savoie’s Roux in a jar. . . I had to laugh and point out that I am capable of making roux from scratch.  I don’t know if it’s smart to do the easy thing and use roux that someone else has taken the time to make – or just shameful that Alex thinks (after five years together) that I don’t know how to make roux.  Here’s to proving him wrong!

roux

Leave a Reply

