Maw Maw’s Peach Cobbler

15 Sep

So. . . what does fishing have to do with peach cobbler?  Nothing except that my Maw Maw had the best recipe for peach cobbler in the world. . . and she loved to fish.  So there.  Honestly, I can’t ever remember eating peach cobbler at her house?  But when my elementary school published a cookbook a few decades back, her recipe for cobbler was included.  It’s REALLY easy, and REALLY yummy, so I made it a lot growing up.  Last night, I came across a can of peaches in the pantry and decided it was time to share my love of Maw Maw’s cobbler with my little guy and with the world!  (Or at least the five people who read this blog.)

skmbt_c45216091506191-copy

Maw Maw’s Peach Cobbler (borrowed from p. 130 of the St. Francis School Cookbook)

1 c. flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 c. sugar
3/4 c. milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. butter
1 large can sliced peaches (side note. . . what is large? I did this with a 16 oz. can last night and remembered that it probably was a bigger can that we usually use)

Melt butter in cobbler dish. Blend together first 5 ingredients. Add to butter in dish without stirring. Pour peaches (and juice) on top. Bake at 350º until center is set and lightly browned (about 45 minutes).
Mrs. Jules Fontenot (grandmother of Eric, Shelly and Jared)

That gives you a clue as to how hold the cookbook is. . . my little brother and sister aren’t even included because they weren’t in school yet.  And now THEY have kids in school.

2 Responses to “Maw Maw’s Peach Cobbler”

  1. Teresa Miller September 15, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

    So how did your men like it?

  2. Like A Broken Umbrella September 15, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

    I’m surprised that there was any left. . . Ha. . . I just realized that there probably WON’T be any left by the time that I get home.

Leave a Reply

